Amber Little

Big Business Blog: a guide to work, life and happiness

If we were all the same, oh what a boring world it would be… March 20, 2011

Filed under: Deep thoughts by Amber — Amber Little @ 1:47 pm
Tags: ,

I have a confession.  I have an unbelievable obsession with cheesy reality TV.  When I found out that there was a new Sister Wives in my dvr the other day, I just about did a cartwheel.  It’s about frickin time TLC.  In case you don’t know, Sister Wives is a reality show that documents the lives of a polygamist family in Utah.  I’m simply fascinated by this lifestyle…and when I found out there was a reality show about such a family, I just about peed.  How do these women not go into a crazy jealous rage on a daily basis?  How do they afford to raise 16 kids?  How do the kids feel about it?  How do they deal with the adversity?  How how how?!?  And after watching this show repeatedly (oh shut it, if you saw it you’d be hooked too) I realized that this family’s main goal was not to justify their lifestyle, but rather to send a message about tolerance.  Don’t get me wrong, I personally don’t agree with their choices, and I know that this particular family does not represent every polygamist family out there, but I do respect the message.

Tolerance is something this world needs more of.  We come across people every day that are different from us in one way or another.  It’s a wonderful thing to have a conversation with a person who has a different point of view from your own.  Rather than automatically dismiss every idea that is different from yours, why not try and get some perspective?  When you get a chance to have such a conversation, take a moment and ask about religious views, lifestyle choices, how they feel about certain medical procedures, or their attitudes towards women?

By being more tolerant and less critical, we become more open to new ideas, perspectives and understanding.  We are able to learn and broaden our outlook on life in a positive way, and appreciate different belief systems and practices of individuals or cultures.  And, we are also able to appreciate cheesy reality TV in an entirely different light.  So get with it TLC, I need another episode already.

photo credit

 

5 Responses to “If we were all the same, oh what a boring world it would be…”

  1. Jenny Tsai Says:

    Good post, Amber! I saw the description of this TV show on a magazine the other day, and I was shock by how they live the life we can’t imagine.

  2. Nice post amber. I have witnessed a family where the man had 7 wives. He was a hotel business mogul and their house got 7 different units. They were my neighbors for more than a year (Then I moved out to a new place). They literally lived like 7 families, but had the habit of having dinner together.

  3. Jessica Says:

    I was wondering what Sister Wives was all about, thanks for the quick details on the show. I like that you can watch the show and actually learn something from it.

    What’s your take on the Real Housewives? What can be learned from these women?


Leave a Reply

