Amber Little

Big Business Blog: a guide to work, life and happiness

I’m late for a very important date! April 14, 2011

Filed under: Tips for a successful career — Amber Little @ 9:21 pm
Tags: ,

We are all guilty of it once in awhile…some mornings things just don’t like us.  The snooze button inexplicably turns the alarm off, the coffee throws itself on our white pants, someone stole our shoe, every traffic light senses we are late…ya know, basically every morning for me it seems.  However, being late to work is one of my least favorite things.  It’s not that I work for Cruella Deville and get the evil eye when I walk in a few minutes late…it’s the feeling of not being in control that I hate.  Starting out the day stressed out is no way to start any day.  The good news is, there are lots of ways that you can get a better handle on your mornings.

The first step is to admit you have a problem.  As with any ailment, you can’t fix a problem unless you admit that there is one and you need to work on it.

Wake up when you are supposed to wake up.  If you love hitting the snooze button (oh snooze button, what WOULD I do without you) set your alarm an hour earlier…you can fool yourself into thinking you are sleeping in.  And don’t bother setting your clocks a few minutes ahead, you’ll always know…

Always be aware of the time.  Try and put clocks in rooms that you frequent in the morning.  Some days it’s easy to assume you have plenty of time but not actually be aware of the time flying by.

Don’t be so optimistic.  I do this all the time…”Oh, I have PLENTY of time”.  And I never do.  Things always take longer than you’d expect, especially without caffeine flowing through your veins.

Think in terms of depart time rather than arrival time.  I always have a set time that I need to be out the door.  If I think in terms of when I need to get there, I’m toast.  “You say I have to be to work at 8 and it’s 7:50?  Pffffff, I can make it!”   Ha.  Sure thing there Amber.

photo credit

 

2 Responses to “I’m late for a very important date!”

  1. Michelle Fox Says:

    Great tips Amber, thank you.


Leave a Reply

